I kept having to remind myself that Socrates was real and Zeus was pretend.

4 May
Me an C, psyched about the ouzo.

Me and C, psyched about the ouzo.

When I was in the seventh grade, my two best friends and I randomly selected May 4, 2005 as the day we would track each other down no matter where we were in the world and go to Greece together. This was long before Facebook, so we imagined this would require some heroic effort involving private investigators and lots of phonebooks (remember those?)

Turns out we were still friends in 2005, even though nearly 15 years had passed. In fact, two of us lived together in an apartment in New York City, so “tracking each other down” meant walking down the hallway. And we did go to Greece. And we laughed as we remembered what our 12-year-old selves had thought we would become (something about power suits and martinis).

We plan to repeat this tradition every five years or so. I recommend you do the same. But please skip Mykonos, and go straight to Santorini. I’d take donkeys waking me up at six in the morning over frat guys any day.

Happy May 4, C and M! Time to start planning the next adventure.

2 Responses to “I kept having to remind myself that Socrates was real and Zeus was pretend.”

  1. Rose Willis May 5, 2009 at 9:09 am #

    Long live to your friendship! And congratulations for having travelled to Greece. its a dream and has still remained a dream. soon i will be able to achieve it.

  2. C May 6, 2009 at 12:53 am #

    Happy May 4th! And, I LOVE your eyes in this photo, totally made me laugh out loud! When’s the next trip?! I’m leaning towards Australia more and more nowadays…

Leave a Reply

