Science Fair 2009

25 May

I visited Seattle recently, and my family indulged my desire to have a Science Fair party. We started the day by going to the Pacific Science Center, where my two-year-old niece was surprisingly freaked out by the Butterfly House and I learned how much I’d weigh on Jupiter.

After the Science Center, we went to my mom’s house to officially start the Fair. We noshed on the Periodic Table of the Appetizers (rare earth metals = hummus with carrots; transition metals = mixed nuts; etc.), and were properly weirded out by the optical illusion party favors (for your own Science Fair party, I recommend the bird in a cage, a zoetrope, and Curry’s Paradox triangle puzzle. Paper airplane guides and Möbius strips are fun, too, though not technically illusions.)  My mom cooked a nice dinner and dessert (flourless chocolate volcano cake with raspberry lava!), and then we started the science projects.

The video below shows most of the science experiements we conducted. We covered chemistry, geology, and physics. And bubbles.

Vodpod videos no longer available.

more about “ScienceFair“, posted with vodpod
2 Responses to “Science Fair 2009”

  1. Annie May 25, 2009 at 6:26 pm #

    How fun!! I loved doing all of these science projects as a kid. 😀

  2. juliacsmith May 28, 2009 at 9:33 pm #

    i love the grand finale. egg = mind boggling.

    and speaking of boggling…i promise to write about bogglefest soon!

Leave a Reply

