I Made It Myself: Coconut Tamales with Spicy Pineapple Sauce

24 Aug

I’m kickstarting a new series called “I Made It Myself,” which is inspired in equal parts by Michael Pollan’s recent New York Times Magazine article, Anne’s idea for a food adventures blog, and my own desire to be more self-sufficient and awesome.

My plan is to regularly attempt to cook things that normally I would pay someone else to cook for me. Things like creme brulee, chana masala, and falafel. I’ll also make things that I would normally buy in a package such as yogurt, vanilla extract, and granola bars.

My first attempt was this weekend’s Coconut Tamales with Spicy Pineapple Sauce.

Here’s the Before shot:

Picture 156

Then I cooked some masa harina with some coconut and butter and some other stuff and then I put it into some corn husks I had softened by soaking them in hot water, and then I added some raisins and tied ’em up like this:

Picture 175

Then I steamed them in a steamer that I had to buy because I didn’t have one. Then I made a sauce by doing this…

Picture 164

…because I was at Craig’s apartment (that’s OtherCraig to some of you) and he doesn’t have a proper blender, which is okay because a) we strained the sauce anyway, and b) it’s okay to not have a blender. The sauce was sort of like the sauce used in this recipe, except that I couldn’t find those peppers so I used other kinds. I also skipped the cumin seeds but I don’t think the sauce could tell the difference.

Here’s the After shot:

Picture 182

Maybe I am a little bit biased, but I think it was delicious!

p.s. This is what straining the sauce looked like. I’m including this because for some reason we took the “After” shot before we’d put the sauce on. So this is how you know there was sauce.

Picture 178

5 Responses to “I Made It Myself: Coconut Tamales with Spicy Pineapple Sauce”

  1. littlepioneer August 24, 2009 at 3:05 am #

    it was indeed delish!

  2. Susan August 26, 2009 at 1:37 am #

    I love the photos and the commentary. This will be a vicarious adventure for me.

  3. juliacsmith August 26, 2009 at 8:38 pm #

    I love this new series! My mouth is watering just thinking about what might be next.

  4. juliacsmith August 26, 2009 at 9:12 pm #

    i’d like to add that i find it amusing that “raisins” is now one of your tags.

    • hannahkane August 26, 2009 at 9:18 pm #

      So it is! I don’t think I quite have the hang of tagging. My primary goal is to keep “cubes” pretty big in the tag cloud. Who knew that term would be so useful? I’ve blogged about cheese cubes, Boogle cubes, square root day, and Rubik’s Cubes so far.

Leave a Reply

