I Made It Myself: Homemade Peanut Butter Granola

5 Oct

granolaI Made It Myself is a series where I document my attempts to cook food that I would normally pay someone else to make, or buy in a package.

There are two things in this world I know to be true. First, I could eat peanut butter every day for the rest of my life. And second, granola is also pretty good. So for this third edition of IMIM, I present: homemade peanut butter granola! So delicious and so easy.

I modified this recipe from my favorite white collar criminal. The modification I made was to skip the part about cutting it into bars. That seemed too laborious. Instead, I just crumbled it up and ate it out of tupperware. Additionally, I took the liberty of adapting the recommended “16 servings” into “1 and a half servings.”

Peanut Butter Granola Bars

Ingredients:

Makes 16

  • 1/2 cup old-fashioned oats
  • 1/2 cup sliced almonds
  • 1/2 cup dried cranberries
  • 3 tablespoons vegetable oil
  • 1/2 cup light brown sugar
  • 1/2 cup natural peanut butter or almond butter
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground cinnamon
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1 large egg white

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 300 degrees. Line an 8-inch square baking pan with 2 crisscrossed rectangles of parchment paper, leaving a 2-inch overhang at 2 opposite ends. In a large bowl, combine oats, almonds and cranberries.
  2. In a small saucepan, whisk together oil, brown sugar, peanut butter, cinnamon, salt and 1 tablespoon water over low heat until sugar has dissolved, about 5 minutes. Let cool slightly; whisk in egg white. Pour over at mixture; stir until moistened. Spread evenly in bottom of pan; smooth top.
  3. Bake until top is firm, about 30 minutes. Let cool 10 minutes. Lift out of pan, using paper as handles. Let cool completely, cut into bars with serrated knife.
One Response to “I Made It Myself: Homemade Peanut Butter Granola”

  1. C October 23, 2009 at 12:04 am #

    serving sizes can be so misleading. I feel like I consume 10 servings in one sitting on a regular basis…. glad to know I’m not alone 😉

Leave a Reply

