I Made It Myself: Caramel Apples (FAIL)

5 Nov

I Made It Myself is a series where I document my attempts to cook food that I would normally pay someone else to make, or buy in a package.

This edition of IMIM has inspired me to coin a new term: Carapster. This is short for Caramel Apple Disaster. Because this is what happened when I tried a new-fangled recipe that seemed more in keeping with the goal of this series than just melting a bunch of Kraft caramels on the stove:

carameldisaster

How do you like them apples? (Not so much.)

Obviously, I did something wrong. I may not have used enough cream, honey, or salt (the only ingredients!), or I may not have gotten the caramel hot enough, or maybe I didn’t cool it quickly enough, or maybe this is the universe’s way of punishing me for not paying attention in Chemistry class junior year. No matter the reason, the bottom line is, the caramel was more interested in the wax paper than the apples.

In order to make myself feel better, I’ve made this list.

Things I’m Better at Doing Than Making Caramel Apples:

  • Spelling
  • Checking my email
  • Appreciating nuance
  • Giving hugs
  • Eating caramel apples


4 Responses to “I Made It Myself: Caramel Apples (FAIL)”

  1. littlepioneer November 5, 2009 at 3:37 pm #

    i thought they tasted amazing!

  2. Erin November 6, 2009 at 8:31 pm #

    I wouldn’t take it personal. Wax paper IS fascinating!

    • hannahkane November 6, 2009 at 8:50 pm #

      Thanks, Erin. I guess I hadn’t really thought about it from the caramel’s perspective.

  3. Susan November 10, 2009 at 1:08 am #

    Oh my – you made me laugh a whole bunch. Sorry about the apple debacle – I am sure they DID TASTE just fine but they look a little sorry in the photo. A+ for effort.

    XXX000

Leave a Reply

