Graduating from the kids’ table

10 Nov
turkey

This is how Martha does it.

My mother has two sisters, and all three of them like to cook. Historically, when our family has gotten together for holidays, members of the younger generation have been exiled from the kitchen. If we were lucky we were allowed to arrange cheese and crackers on a plate, but for the most part, we weren’t allowed to participate in the cooking.

My sister and I feel we’ve proven ourselves over the years, and this Thanksgiving we’d like to contribute. In a couple of weeks we’re all heading out to Napa, CA where we’re spending Thanksgiving with my aunt and uncle. For the first time ever, my sister and I will be equal contributors to the menu. I’m responsible for the stuffing, greens, and some kind of dessert; my sister will be doing sweet potatoes with goat cheese and a Pumpkin Ginger Cheesecake Pie with Gingersnap Crust.

But that’s not our only innovation! Check out our other Thanksgiving Upgrades:

  • Breaking All the Rules: We decided to fly on Thanksgiving day in order to save money on flights. We’re having our T-giving dinner on Friday. This is a great strategy to employ if your family members are flexible about dates.
  • Like that Episode of The Golden Girls: After we arrive on Thursday, we’re going straight to a shelter where we’ll help serve meals.
  • Going Local: We’re going to swing by a Farmer’s Market on Friday morning to pick up fresh, local ingredients for our dinner.
  • I’m Thankful For…Day Spas: We made appointments for manicures, massages and facials for the day after our Thanksgiving meal. I honestly can’t think of anything better.

I think the younger generation is bringing a lot to the table this year, both literally and figuratively. I’m glad to be joining the ranks of the grown-ups…but I’m still probably not going to brush my hair.

See more entries about Holidays in 2009.

One Response to “Graduating from the kids’ table”

  1. jadynmom November 10, 2009 at 2:26 am #

    Don’t forget, we used to fight over the coveted potato peeling responsibilities too.

    😉

Leave a Reply

