“Ask a Librarian” online chat, and other wonders of the public library

14 Jan
Courtesy of the Catalog Card Generator on http://www.blyberg.net

Courtesy of the awesome Catalog Card Generator on http://www.blyberg.net

After about 15 library card-less years, I finally made my way down to the Brooklyn Central Library and got myself a library card last Saturday morning. My how times have changed! Gone are the days of flipping through faded cards in the old wooden catalogue. Mr. Dewey Decimal, meet Mr. Online Database. This morning I received an email notifying me that The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society is sitting on a shelf, waiting for me to pick it up. An email! That is so 2010!

This has nothing to do with theme parties, vacations, holidays, or scavenger hunts. But it has everything to do with being a more interesting person. I am so excited to learn more about science, food, social change, medicine, and music. This also affords me an opportunity to assuage my young adult lit habit (Anne of Green Gables is like crack to me!), without breaking the bank.

Why didn’t I think of this sooner?

Thanks to Anne (of Delmar, not Green Gables) for the inspiration.

Leave a Reply

