I Made It Myself Roundup: Fishsticks, Risotto and Vanilla Extract (not all together)

1 Feb

Mmmm...fancy tv dinner.

I Made It Myself is a series where I document my attempts to cook food that I would normally pay someone else to make, or buy in a package.

I don’t think I ever explicitly stated that my goal for IMIM was to have 50 culinary adventures, but that’s the plan. This entry covers #7, #8, and #9.

#7: Thai Coconut Fishsticks with Peanut Dipping Sauce

I used this recipe from the Whole Life Nutrition Kitchen, though we ended up substituting cod for the halibut. I know from my highschool job frying fish at the Totem House in Seattle that halibut is generally tastier, but this cod was pretty good. It was a little too flaky, so our fishsticks kind of fell apart. But, whatevs. Peanut sauce compensates for flakiness. We served it with a side of kale. All in all, it was a very delicious meal with a kind of tv dinner nostalgia that made me happy.

#8: Artichoke Risotto

I really wanted to try risotto because everyone says it’s so difficult to make, and that was confusing to me because it just seems like creamy rice to me. (I respect food chemistry and realize that there’s some starch business going on with the rice that I don’t fully understand, but I tend towards overconfidence in the kitchen.) I used this somewhat complicated recipe from Gluten Free Girl and the Chef. I’d actually recommend finding a simpler recipe for your first risotto experience (though it’s a great site!). The end product was pretty delicious, but we spent most of the cooking time being a little confused. Also, we used not just artichokes, but also asparagus because it’s the best vegetable on the planet.

#9: Homemade Vanilla Extract (In progress)

I just started the six-month process of making homemade vanilla extract. I’m following the directions on Annie Get Your Glue Gun. I believe it’s going to be awesome, but this will be an exercise in patience, since I have to wait half a year to enjoy the fruits of my labor. Dang.

One Response to “I Made It Myself Roundup: Fishsticks, Risotto and Vanilla Extract (not all together)”

  1. Susan February 2, 2010 at 5:11 pm #

    You are such an adventurous cook and I always enjoy your self-deprecating humor.

Leave a Reply

