Salad Daze

3 May

I’ve decided to do a personal themed food week, and I’m calling it Salad Daze. I’ve picked the yummiest-sounding recipes from Mark Bittman’s 2009 New York Times article, “101 Simple Salads for the Season,” and I’ll be cooking them all week. This afternoon I made #36, and it was excellent:

36. Mix cooked or canned chickpeas with toasted coconut, shredded carrots, chopped celery, curry powder, olive oil, lime juice and cilantro.

Later this week I plan on trying #1 (watermelon and tomato, though I might substitute peaches, like he suggests), #9 (jicama and mango), and most especially #29 (cherry/balsamic reduction over escarole – what the what?!?!?).

It’s a nice way to welcome the warm weather, don’t you think?

Leave a Reply

