Birthday Scavenger Hunt Recap

19 May

Thanks to everyone who came out to my birthday scavenger hunt on Sunday! You made my birthday special!

Here’s a recap for those who couldn’t make it:

We met up at Shake Shack to form teams and go over the “rules.” This is what that looked like (very serious):

I am bossy.

The game was actually two games in one! In addition to being a regular scavenger hunt, it was also Two Truths and a Lie, because 20 of the statements were things that were true about me, and 10 were lies. Teams got a point for each correct answer on that front. I’m slightly bothered that everyone seemed to agree that I think Renaissance Faires are cool. Not true, people.

Some of my favorite photos were:

I’m turning 30, but I usually dress like I’m not a day older than 17. Help me out by taking a picture of a stylish 30ish-year-old woman, whose look you think I could replicate. I’ll award points based on how much I like her outfit. 5-20 points.

16 points, largely based on the bracelet.

I don’t really believe in coincidences. Prove me wrong by taking a picture of one. 15 points.

Two teams were able to use this for their "coincidence" photo. Trish and Jennifer had never met, but Jennifer had been a candidate for a job where Trish works. Now I'm a believer!

My high school Mock Trial team won three state championships, including one involving Elvis Presley’s death. One member of your team needs to eat a peanut butter and banana sandwich. 10 points.

Double points.

I wanted to keep things low-key and light. So I had some silly questions:

I sometimes do the robot when I feel awkward. Try it! Take a photo or video (must be in a public space; preferably with a stranger). Points for awesomeness, but remember…awesome is spelled a-w-k-w-a-r-d. 5-15 points.

some questions that were open to interpretation:

I’m really into time travel. Find me something that hasn’t been invented yet. 5-15 points.

and an entirely subjective scoring system:

Back to the Future is probably the best movie ever. Find me some paraphernalia. (Example scores: 5 points for a can of Tab, 10 points for a skateboard, 30 points for a DeLorean, and 50 points for a flux capacitor.)

After the hunt, we all met up at Fat Cat for some shuffleboard and nonsense Scrabble. I tallied the scores (congrats to the winning team: Liza, Jennifer, Jen and Steve!), but everyone got prizes. Prizes included: a generic version of Jenga called “Jumbling Towers” (I love it. Not Tumbling. Jumbling.), some Oscar Wilde notecards, a gift certificate to Kiva, and homemade brownies.

‘Twas fun!

Thanks also to my amazing co-workers who provided me with yummy gluten-free treats and a custom-made game during my actual birthday yesterday. You guys are the best!

4 Responses to “Birthday Scavenger Hunt Recap”

  1. Sarah May 20, 2010 at 4:16 pm #

    Looks like a lot of fun. Wish I could have been there! 🙂

  2. Trish May 21, 2010 at 10:32 pm #

    This party was hella fun – and I learned so many new things about my old (not because you’re 30) friend!

    Thanks for organizing the awesomeness!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. NYC Scavenger Hunt Rundown « Everybody’s Invited! - August 26, 2010

    […] The Amazing New York Race runs a series of public races (including dog-friendly ones, singles events, and their winter “underground” races), and will produce a custom birthday scavenger hunt for you (if you’re not in the mood to create your own). […]

  2. Second Blogiversary! « Everybody’s Invited! - November 30, 2010

    […] This year was scavenge-tastic. Feel free to use the templates I made for Back in Time: A Scavenger Hunt for Anachronisms; Gastroscavenge: Scavenger Hunts for Foodies; and Hogwarts: Find Your Inner Wizard. (And thanks again to everyone who came out to my birthday scavenger hunt!) […]

Leave a Reply

