Explore!

1 Jul

Last weekend Adam and I went to see the Race to the End of the Earth exhibit at the American Museum of Natural History. The exhibit is about Roald Amundsen and Robert Scott, expedition leaders who both aimed to be the first to reach the South Pole in 1912. I won’t spoil the end in case you want to be surprised, but I will say that I enjoyed the exhibit very much.

Adam and I talked about how it must have been an exciting time when there were still major parts of the Earth to be discovered (I realize “discovered” is a problematic word when it comes to many explorations, but in the case of the South Pole, it’s accurate). Now we only have Mars and the rest of the universe to look forward to! I kind of doubt I will ever get to go to Mars, and I was feeling a little blue about this until I heard Ann Bancroft‘s recent appearance on NPR’s Wait Wait Don’t Tell Me. Ann Bancroft is the first woman to trek across both the North and South Poles. (She was not, however, in The Graduate. Different spelling, different lady.) Learning about her story reminded me that there are more Earthly adventures to be had.

Here are my current top 10 places I want to visit:

  1. India
  2. Egypt
  3. Turkey
  4. New Zealand
  5. Romania
  6. Ghana
  7. Vietnam
  8. Thailand
  9. Antarctica
  10. U.S. National Parks

I know these aren’t very specific. I’m not going to be able to go to all of India. I’ll get more specific as each of these becomes more of an impending reality. (C&M – are we still on for Turkey later this year?)

I am so lucky that I get to travel!

Where do you want to go?

Me at Machu Picchu, December 2007

3 Responses to “Explore!”

  1. Matt Koltermann July 1, 2010 at 3:16 pm #

    The Maldives! Before they’re submerged.

  2. Trish July 2, 2010 at 12:30 am #

    You let me know when you’re ready for that trip to Ghana. I have plenty of cousins who would be down for a theme party like woah!

  3. Sarah July 2, 2010 at 3:43 am #

    Alaska, before it’s destroyed.

Leave a Reply

