Best Inventions

7 Jul

So hungry hungry.

“Inventor” is one of those jobs that hardly seems real, or at least sounds obsolete (like “alchemist”). It makes me think of a crazy person in a lab coat wildly putting the finishing touches on a flying machine made out of found objects.

Of course, being an inventor is actually a totally legit job. And some people have it! People invent things all the time, as evidenced by the U.S. Patent and Trademark Office’s online database. For example, when I type in “hovercraft,” I find this landing gear for hovercraft patented in 2006. Sweet! Also, I was pleased to learn that the patent for this baseball helmet dog house was granted on my birthday this year (or perhaps just renewed? Honestly, I find this site confusing. Someone should invent a better database for them.)

I’d like to start featuring interviews with real inventors on my blog, so please let me know if you have invented anything, or know someone who has (please note: the Jellyflake Sandwich does not count).

In the meantime, here’s my list of Top 10 Inventions That Have Been Important In My Life*:

  1. Corrective lenses
  2. Slap bracelet Penicillin
  3. Audio recording equipment
  4. Post-It Notes/Paper Clip (tie)
  5. Hologram
  6. Parachute
  7. Sleep mask
  8. Juiceman JM503 Electric Juicer
  9. Hungry Hungry Hippos game
  10. Wheel

Do you have a favorite invention?

* These are probably not the most important inventions of my life. But these ones came to mind first.

3 Responses to “Best Inventions”

  1. evologynow July 7, 2010 at 10:31 pm #

    Hahaha I love your top ten! I would say the electric coffee maker has been pretty important in my life. So has the cell phone!

    I actually blogged about my technology “lifechanger” the other day. You should check it out and share yours.

  2. Sarah July 8, 2010 at 1:52 am #

    I thought you were allergic to penicillin (?)

    Computer probably tops my list 😉

    • hannahkane July 8, 2010 at 1:57 pm #

      Not *all* kinds of penicillin. Besides, the fact that it’s available for other people has probably impacted my life. 🙂

Leave a Reply

