Fake Space Camp

20 Jul

So, the best thing that ever happened to me happened last weekend when two of my friends planned a full day’s worth of Fake Space Camp activities for me. Fake Space Camp is like Real Space Camp but better because you get to make space-themed jewelry.

A bit of background: I’ve been wanting to go to Space Camp for awhile now, and talking about it loudly. For various logistical reasons, it hasn’t happened yet (but, Erin, we’re on for 2011, right?). Julia and Trish truly are makers of dreams. Thanks, friends!

Here’s what happened, in words (by me) and pictures (by Julia):

I met up with Trish and Julia at the Ronald E. McNair Park in Brooklyn. Ronald E. McNair was a physicist and astronaut who died in the Challenger explosion. He was also a level five black belt in karate, and an accomplished jazz saxophonist. You can tell this because the memorial has one picture of him with a saxophone and one with him doing a sweet roundhouse kick.

At the park, I received my badge and list of challenges for the day.

We took a picture by the Challenger memorial mural. I’m the only one not smiling!

The first challenge was to make Tang. I aced it! We added champagne and glow-in-the-dark stir sticks for extra awesome.

We did some science experiments. Here’s Trish and me totally understanding Newton’s third law of motion! This experiment inexplicably involved Trish doing a Jean-Claude Van Damme impression. If you ask me, she was just looking for an occasion.

We made constellation telescopes. Stars rule!

Trish made a great t.v.-style dinner and Julia made Galaxy Pie*!

Other highlights included testing my knowledge with space trivia, jamming to a Fake Space Camp soundtrack, making cosmic jewelry, applying stars and moon temporary tattoos, eating astronaut ice cream, digging through my goodie bag (Starburst and Milky Way candies! Orbit gum! Aviator glasses!), and hanging out with @annetastic. The pièce de résistance was re-creating the moonlanding back at Ronald McNair Park.

J&T: You guys outdid yourselves. Thanks for such a thoughtful birthday gift!

If anyone is interested in having their own spacey adventures, Julia put together this list of space-related activities to do any time, even when you’re not at Fake Space Camp (warning: somewhat NYC-centric).

And I’m sure Trish would give her full recommendation to About.com for their clearly written science experiment instructions. </sarcasm>

* Today I found out that Galaxy Pie is a Pietopia winner! So exciting. This is the first time I’ve ever won something that wasn’t math or spelling related!

3 Responses to “Fake Space Camp”

  1. Sarah July 20, 2010 at 8:48 pm #

    You have the coolest friends ever!

    How was the pie?

  2. hannahkane July 20, 2010 at 9:03 pm #

    I know!

    Pie was great. You’ll probably get to sample some because I have to practice next week before the big community celebration Pietopia event!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Second Blogiversary! « Everybody’s Invited! - November 30, 2010

    […] were lots of events! A few of my favorites were Fake Space Camp (thank you TT and JCS!), Pietopia, and The National Rubik’s Cube Championship. This year also […]

Leave a Reply

