Games People Play: My Favorites from Childhood

5 Sep

I wonder what these kids are up to today. He is probably still pumping his fist and she has probably led a life full of regret.

I’ve been thinking a lot about Hungry Hungry Hippos. For those who might not know, this is a game involving little skill but an awful lot of excitement (if you’re between the ages of, say, 3 and 6). The objective is simple: ensure that your hippo eats the majority of the marbles on the board. In retrospect, this game teaches some sobering life lessons about what happens when resources are scarce.  It reminds me of the nonprofit sector. Mostly, though, it reminds me of my childhood.

I really really really liked games when I was a kid. Here’s a list of my Top Ten Favorite Games from Childhood:

  1. Hungry Hungry Hippos (duh)
  2. Connect Four (glorified tic-tac-toe, but still fun)
  3. Air Hockey (anything that uses hover technology gets two thumbs up from me)
  4. Dream Date (okay, this is a game that my friends and I made up in middle school, but it was really awesome!)
  5. Mastermind (this game involved logic, so it was tops in my book!)
  6. Balderdash (I still like to use words even if I don’t know what they mean.)
  7. Foursquare (before it was a location-based app, it was a game kids played at recess. If I remember correctly, I was pretty good at it. You might say I was the mayor of the schoolyard.)
  8. Boyopoly (see # 4. We liked making up our own games, but apparently we only had one subject matter in mind.)
  9. Tetherball (really good for venting frustrations)
  10. Jenga (edge-of-your-seat excitement)

What were your favorite games?

This entry is dedicated to Cady, co-author of Dream Date and Boyopoly, who played a lot of games with me after school at the Ballard Community Center.

6 Responses to “Games People Play: My Favorites from Childhood”

  1. Sarah September 6, 2010 at 7:45 am #

    Driveway Frogger.

  2. hannahkane September 6, 2010 at 9:08 pm #

    Oh man, that was fun.

  3. Jung September 7, 2010 at 1:11 am #

    I totally agree with #s 1, 2 and 10. Plus I played a lot of monopoly, futilely, with my dad (he always made amazing comebacks!). I also LOVED Score Four. Board games rule.

  4. hannahkane September 7, 2010 at 1:15 am #

    I haven’t even heard of Score Four. I’ll have to check it out. Thanks, Jung!

  5. Sarah September 11, 2010 at 6:11 am #

    And what about Operation?

  6. Jung September 12, 2010 at 3:37 am #

    I agree with Sarah. I was thinking about that the other night! And Hannah, you’re gonna like Score Four!

Leave a Reply

