IMIM (#13): Root Beer!

26 Sep

I Made It Myself is a series where I document my attempts to cook food that I would normally pay someone else to make, or buy in a package.

Okay, I think we can all agree that root beer is really excellent, right? Great. I’m glad we agree.

I spent some time looking at homemade root beer recipes, like this one which shows you how to make root beer either from an extract or from scratch (this is also how I learned that the FDA has banned sassafras because it contains safrole which is a carcinogenic). In the end, I decided to go with the (easier) extract method, and actually ended up buying a root beer making kit because I am lazy and busy.

Then Mark came over and we proceeded to follow the directions included in the kit, except for one. Missing one step in the process can’t be too big of a deal, right? I mean, there were, like, five steps.

All the supplies. At least I got a funnel out of the whole debacle.

The step we missed was “add the yeast.” It turns out this part of the process is actually sort of critical. By the time we realized it, we had already bottled the root beer, so we decided to just add one quarter of the yeast to each bottle at the very end and cross our fingers. At this point, we were in a hurry to eat delicious Mexican food.

The root beer did end up getting a little bit carbonated over the next couple of days, and when we finally tried it, it was….um…the word I’m looking for is….okay.

It was okay.

A little flat, but rather flavorful. Adding seltzer helped.

I will try this again, and when I do, I will bring some humility to the task.

Just before trying it for the first time. At this point, I still had hope that it would work out. Damn you, Science!

3 Responses to “IMIM (#13): Root Beer!”

  1. Mark Turetsky September 26, 2010 at 4:44 pm #

    I found this article over on Gizmodo about another do-it-yourself beverage: turning Welch’s grape juice into wine, using our favorite mirco-friend, yeast. http://gizmodo.com/5647605/turning-welchs-into-wine-in-48-hours

  2. Hannah Kane September 26, 2010 at 4:55 pm #

    This is what Jesus did, right?

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Second Blogiversary! « Everybody’s Invited! - November 30, 2010

    […] Made 10 Things Myself, including Root Beer (okay, that one wasn’t by myself. Thanks to Mark for the assist.) (p.s. Big plans for IMIM in […]

Leave a Reply

