IMIM (#14): Pavlovas

4 Oct

I Made It Myself is a series where I document my attempts to cook food that I would normally pay someone else to make, or buy in a package.

Pavlovas are a meringue-based dessert named after the Russian ballerina Anna Pavlova. I’m in Seattle this weekend and my mom and I decided to give it a go. First, we watched Giada do it. Then we did it ourselves.

Beating egg whites is half the battle.

Still Life with Meringue and Dutch Oven

Fully dressed

3 Responses to “IMIM (#14): Pavlovas”

  1. Sarah October 4, 2010 at 10:47 pm #

    It was so yummy! Merci beaucoup 🙂

  2. hilary and Len October 5, 2010 at 1:39 am #

    Gorgeous. Hey, I thought the key to successful egg white whipping was a copper or glass bowl. Good to see plastic doing the job.

    • Hannah Kane October 5, 2010 at 5:16 pm #

      It took a LONG time for the eggs to stiffen, so a copper or glass bowl probably would have been better. But we got there in the end!

Leave a Reply

