But seriously, how do you make adult-sized robot arms?

28 Oct

So, I’m thinking about Halloween and how I really want to be a robot, but I’m realizing that it’s harder than it seems. At first I thought, “Oh, I’m just going to wrap some tin foil around some cardboard boxes and that’ll be that.” But after thinking a little more, I have the following questions:

  • How will I find the right size boxes?
  • How do I keep the tin foil on/not tear it?
  • How do I make robot arms? The internets suggest using that dryer venting stuff, but I’m pretty sure that’s for children’s costumes. What, grown-ups with their grown-up-sized arms can’t be robots for Halloween?
  • How am I going to sit down?

Thoughts?

And on a related note:

4 Responses to “But seriously, how do you make adult-sized robot arms?”

  1. Jennifer October 29, 2010 at 1:33 pm #

    Answers:
    1. I will get them for you and you will drag them on the subway during rush hour.
    2. Girl, tin foil? Just get some silver spray paint! Hint: just shake the can for 3 minutes.
    3. Hide your arms, rubix cube costume style, and attach small mechanical arms.
    4. Standing or laying down only!

    • Hannah Kane October 29, 2010 at 1:37 pm #

      Thank you for your assistance yesterday! Even though the costume is a #fail so far, it was fun watching Ghost and eating chili.

  2. kyle November 9, 2010 at 9:15 pm #

    Robot arms:

    • Hannah Kane November 9, 2010 at 9:21 pm #

      Oh, yes, I consulted with your compatriots before making my costume. 🙂

Leave a Reply

