I Made It Myself #15: Cinnamon Chocolate Mousse

14 Nov

I Made It Myself is a series where I document my attempts to cook food that I would normally pay someone else to make, or buy in a package.

I’ve never made mousse before. But I’ve had these ramekins for a few months and I haven’t used them yet. What a shame. The obvious choice for the ramekin debut would have been crème brulée, but I didn’t feel like crème brulée. I felt like mousse. So I made some for the first time. Turns out, it’s pretty easy.

Basically, you make a chocolate cinnamon mixture in a double boiler, and then a whipped cream/vanilla/sugar mixture with a hand mixer, and then you combine them.
And then you serve it in ramekins! Easy peasy.

3 Responses to “I Made It Myself #15: Cinnamon Chocolate Mousse”

  1. hilary November 15, 2010 at 1:35 am #

    So where’s the recipe?

    • Hannah Kane November 15, 2010 at 2:14 am #

      Well, I read a few recipes and kind of made up my own. I sort of followed this recipe from the Food Network, except I melted the chocolate in a double boiler (I don’t have a microwave), and I didn’t use eggs. I found a lot of recipes didn’t use eggs, so I thought I’d chance it.

      • Hannah Kane November 15, 2010 at 2:15 am #

        Oh – and I added cinnamon because it’s my favorite flavor!

Leave a Reply

