Top Ten Treasure Hunt Films

9 Apr

Father of two treasure hunters. Can you name the other one?

My roommate and I were watching Raiders of the Lost Ark earlier tonight, when she said this crazy thing: “You know what’s better than Raiders of the Lost Ark? National Treasure.”

As a die-hard Indy fan (who’s also got a jones for Die Hard), I found this statement to be rather blasphemous. But since I’d never actually seen National Treasure (I like my movies how I like my eggs – Cage-free), I agreed to give it a shot. We watched, and she was right – I totally dug solving the puzzles!

So, despite painful lines like, “I just…really thought I was going to find the treasure,” I found it enjoyable enough to land the #7 spot on my list of…

Top Ten Treasure Hunt Films

#10. Three Kings
#9. Million Dollar Mystery (I’m sure this movie is actually terrible, but I watched it repeatedly when I was a kid.)
#8. Sneakers
#7. National Treasure
#6. Romancing the Stone/Jewel of the Nile (More childhood favorites. When my sister and I would stay at our dad’s house, our VHS choices were these films, King Kong, and the video for Michael Jackson’s Thriller)
#5. Scavenger Hunt (not really a treasure hunt, but close enough for me)
#4. Time Bandits (treasure hunting + time travel!)
#3. Indiana Jones trilogy (yeah, I said trilogy)
#2. Muppet Treasure Island
#1. The Goonies. Duh.

Honorable mention: City Slickers 2: The Legend of Curly’s Gold

And three treasure hunting films I should probably see:

The Treasure of the Sierra Madre
It’s a Mad, Mad, Mad, Mad World
Easy Come, Easy Go (starring Elvis!)

What cinematic treasures would you add to the list?

6 Responses to “Top Ten Treasure Hunt Films”

  1. Jennifer April 11, 2011 at 12:24 am #

    Adventures in Babysitting!
    They were looking for something that whole damn movie, but I don’t remember what it was.

    • Hannah Kane April 11, 2011 at 3:37 pm #

      OMG, you’re right! They were looking for her friend Brenda (and trying to get $50 to pay for a new tire). Awesome addition to the list. 🙂

  2. Sarah Chessman April 11, 2011 at 10:26 pm #

    It’s kind of morbid, but what about “Stand By Me”? They were essentially seeking fame and fortune and to be hailed as heroes. And the “treasure” aside, the adventure and journey were the important components which is true of any treasure hunting experience, right?

    • Hannah Kane April 12, 2011 at 12:07 am #

      Definitely morbid, but I like the the broad definition of treasure hunt. I was expecting someone to call me out on Sneakers, but I’m glad to see we’re all on the same page about what constitutes treasure. 🙂

  3. Skylar Gray January 23, 2012 at 11:08 pm #

    why didn’t you count the last Indiana Jones? I mean yeah it was a bit cliched but you have to admit for die-hard Indy fans the story of him meeting his son and eventually marrying Marian was totally awesome and sweet

    • Hannah Kane January 24, 2012 at 12:03 am #

      Maybe I was a little quick to exclude Indy 4. 🙂 I thought it was vastly inferior to the first three, and don’t really think of it as part of the series. (I feel similarly about Live Free or Die Hard.) I still enjoyed it, mostly for all of the “in jokes” and for nostalgia’s sake. Thanks for the comment!

Leave a Reply

