I Made It Myself: Ice Cream Snowballs

11 May

My mom used to make ice cream snowballs as a special occasion dessert. For the uninitiated, snowballs are a ball of ice cream rolled in something delicious like coconut, and served with a candle in it. I think it’s a traditional Christmas thing, but I figure it’s good any time of year.

Julia and I recently had a go at recreating the magic of my youth.

We started with some really good ice cream.

We rolled some in coconut, and some in crushed peppermint sticks.

Then we added the candle. And some fake diamonds!

The best desserts offer punny advice on improving your interpersonal skills.

Just like mom used to make. (With fake diamonds!)

5 Responses to “I Made It Myself: Ice Cream Snowballs”

  1. Anne May 11, 2011 at 5:25 pm #

    Gorgeous! And I’ve been meaning to try Steve’s Ice Cream. Good?

    • Hannah Kane May 11, 2011 at 5:30 pm #

      So so good. I especially liked the Mexican Chocolate. And the Bourbon Vanilla was super bourbon-y!

  2. hilary May 11, 2011 at 5:52 pm #

    Grandma Julia offered these every year for Christmas dessert, rolled in pristine white coconut with a red candle and – sometimes – with a shiny green holly leaf. They were served on a plate with a Christmas tree in the center! Very Jewish.

    • Hannah Kane May 11, 2011 at 6:04 pm #

      I’ll have to do some hamentashen for an upcoming IMIM to make up for it. 🙂

      To alleviate any confusion: Hilary is my mom’s sister, and the Julia she’s referencing is my great-grandmother, who shares a name and ice cream affinity with my friend Julia, who took the photographs above.

  3. julia May 19, 2011 at 8:59 pm #

    Someday, decades from now, my grandkids will be able to say the same thing Hilary said – about me! I’m totally adopting your family tradition.

Leave a Reply

