Things I Want to Learn and How I Will Learn Them

24 Jun
Share photos on twitter with Twitpic

Strawberry DNA. Science!

I’m taking a two-part course on DNA at the Brooklyn Brainery. I took the first class on Tuesday night, and I got to extract DNA from a strawberry. For realsies!

The class got me thinking about what other things I want to learn. I smell a top ten list coming on.

Top Ten Things I Want to Learn (with action steps!)

  1. Cosmology (action steps: attend Space Camp in August, follow @neiltyson on Twitter)
  2. Gluten-free cooking (action steps: take a class at Hipcooks after I move to Portland, practice recipes from the Babycakes cookbook)
  3. Photography (action steps: ask Julia to teach me how to use my camera, read relevant articles, practice)
  4. Medicine (action step: listen to podcasts like this one)
  5. How to solve the 5X5 Rubik’s cube (action step: watch a YouTube tutorial)
  6. Evolutionary biology (action step: finish reading the relevant works of Richard Dawkins)
  7. How to do the robot really well (action step: re-watch my How to Do the Robot DVD)
  8. Gardening (action step: ask my parents who both happen to be really good gardeners)
  9. How to fly a plane (action step: look into flight lessons, win lottery to pay for them)
  10. How to play the banjo well (action step: practice playing my banjo)
What do you want to learn?
7 Responses to “Things I Want to Learn and How I Will Learn Them”

  1. mychildcan June 24, 2011 at 2:03 am #

    Isn’t it interesting that some adults carry on to want to keep learning, and others carry on life just the same. I think some people have a fear of expanding themselves, like if they fail then they’ll be criticized. What made you think of this awesome list, and are you just naturally a person that wants to learn more? Or have you had to overcome something? I’m just curious, because i’m doing a blog on learning for children, and i believe that though school has it’s place in our lives, we should be learning from other avenues, and just cos we failed history at school, doesn’t mean it should affect the rest of our lives. I guess i’m just curious about what drives you to learn more? I’m trying to encourage my son to learn, and am coming across some difficulties, even though i love learning myself. – Tracy

    • Hannah Kane June 24, 2011 at 2:10 pm #

      Hi Tracy,

      Thanks for reading, and for posing such interesting questions. I am not an expert on early childhood education, but I do believe that people learn in all sorts of different ways. I suppose my parents and other family members influenced me by being very curious people with lots of different interests. Also, neither of my parents are particularly “school-y” in that they didn’t emphasize grades or college or anything like that. (I did get good grades, and I did go to college.) So, I think I gathered from an early age that the world is an interesting place, and school is just one part of it.

      It’s interesting what you wrote about fear of criticism. While I have that in certain parts of my life, nothing on this list is scary to me (well, except for flying a plane). I think the reason for this is that I’m personally motivated to do all of them, without any sort of external validation. Most of my friends aren’t very science-y, and I don’t think any of them really think solving a Rubik’s cube or doing the robot is cool, so I’m definitely not going to impress anyone but myself. Maybe that’s the secret?

      I like that in your blog you’ve emphasized the different strengths of your two kids. Intelligence manifests in different ways, don’t you think?

  2. Annie June 24, 2011 at 2:19 am #

    We just heard you are moving to Portland! It will be great to see you more often! 🙂

    • Hannah Kane June 24, 2011 at 2:13 pm #

      Yes! And I’ll be excited to meet the little one, too. 🙂

  3. ttchume June 27, 2011 at 3:22 pm #

    I want to learn about the history of Ghana beyond my father’s stories about how awesome he was as a kid in the 40s. [action step: to the library!]

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. I hate school (but I love learning) « Everybody’s Invited! - January 21, 2012

    […] Brooklyn Brainery is similar to Skillshare, and offers awesome classes (like the DNA class I took) but it’s specific to New York. Perhaps there’s something similar where you […]

Leave a Reply

