I Made It Myself: Cookie Cutter Tortilla Chips and Jalapeño Lime Hummus

30 Jul

I have to say, IMIM is getting weird. I do love that I never know what’s going to happen when Julia comes over for a cooking session/photo shoot. So much improvising. And snacking!

The tentative plan was homemade tortilla chips and jalapeño-lime hummus (recipe courtesy of the gluten-free goddess). But that didn’t seem nearly interesting enough for an IMIM photo shoot. Fortunately, my mom, who is awesome, had sent me both a musical note cookie cutter and a palm tree cookie cutter, and Julia and I had the idea to make tortilla notes and tortilla trees to accompany the dip. (Note to self: Find boat-shaped cookie cutter and make tortilla ships.)

Here’s what we came up with:

Chickpeas and jalapeños hanging out. Do they know they're about to become the world's greatest party food?

We practiced with some standard triangle-shaped chips...

...and they looked pretty good

Then we broke out the cookie cutters...

...and snacktime became awesome.

p.s. Looking for a good homemade tortilla chip recipe? Here’s one: cut up some tortillas into your favorite shapes, and fry them in oil on the stove, then drain them on a paper towel. Prep time: 45 seconds. Total time: Two and a half minutes. Serves: you and a friend. 100% of the people who wrote this blog entry would try this recipe again.

8 Responses to “I Made It Myself: Cookie Cutter Tortilla Chips and Jalapeño Lime Hummus”

  1. Annie July 30, 2011 at 5:49 pm #

    I love the palm trees!

  2. hilary July 30, 2011 at 6:35 pm #

    OMG – how did you have time for this zany adventure in the midst of packing?! The photos, hummus, whacked out palm tree chips, you and Julia are all delicious.

  3. Susan July 31, 2011 at 5:59 pm #

    Life’s a beach and you can eat the palm trees. AWESOME.

  4. Lisa G October 5, 2011 at 5:03 pm #

    I want to try this recipe for Halloween. Did you use flour or corn torillas?

    • Hannah Kane October 5, 2011 at 9:10 pm #

      I used corn because I prefer it, but I think either would work. What cookie cutters are you using? Sounds exciting!

      • Lisa G October 5, 2011 at 9:58 pm #

        Thanks! I was hoping you would say corn since I prefer them too. Sur La Table sells a zombie cutter that I thought would be hilarious. Especially if I served the hummus in a skull bowl so it looked like brains. If that doesn’t work I thought about ghosts or bats. In that case I might just make a “bloody” salsa.

      • Hannah Kane October 5, 2011 at 11:25 pm #

        That sounds awesome. I love both the skull bowl and bloody salsa ideas! Good luck.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Third Blogiversary! « Everybody’s Invited! - November 30, 2011

    […] to the truly bizarre (Homemade Cookie Cutter Tortilla Chips). […]

Leave a Reply

