…and we’re back!

23 Sep

Apologies for the long silence. I was in Alaska. And on a road trip. And at Space Camp. And in Egypt. Oh yeah, and in France. I had thought that I might be blogging during my adventures, but near the beginning I realized that it would be more effective to do a series of posts looking back on the whole trip. I found lots of connections between seemingly disparate things on my trip, so I think this way of doing it makes sense.

So, this will be the first of several entries featuring photographs (that I actually took for once!) and a few stories and observations. I’ll try not to bore everyone.

For the first entry, I’ll focus on the most important thing of all: food.

Here's a not great picture of a very great steak I had in Anchorage. Delicious! I wish I had a picture of the s'mores I had in Denali Park, because those really were the standout item of my Alaska adventure. Hooray for gluten-free graham crackers!

Amber and I stumbled upon a peach festival while driving through Berlin, Maryland.

I got back to NYC just in time for Hurricane Irene. Craig and I went out for brunch and awaited the storm (that never really came to our neighborhood).

My Space Camp team designed a mission badge and then they put it on a cake! (We were trying to be optimistic about the end of the Shuttle program.)

One of the ultimate highlights of my Egypt trip was the day and night I spent on a felucca on the Nile. This is the amazing food we ate.

Then I ate my way through France, starting with fromage.

And including huîtres.

And poisson.

And lots of fruit.

And lots and lots of mousse. Since it was one of the only gluten-free options (I think), I was forced to eat it several times.

France really was the winner when it comes to food. Basically my entire France trip was just stopping by a couple museums between meals.

p.s. Stay tuned for an upcoming “I Made It Myself” featuring the macaron class my mom and I took in Paris!

8 Responses to “…and we’re back!”

  1. Jeremy MacKechnie (@thejermboy) September 24, 2011 at 6:00 pm #

    mmm, yummy.

  2. julia s. September 27, 2011 at 5:39 pm #

    When are you hosting a sabbatical themed potluck? I want a meal that starts and ends with France and includes some Egypt in between.

    • Hannah Kane September 27, 2011 at 9:58 pm #

      Woah. Good idea. I’m on it. Thanks, Julia!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Sabbatical in Blue « Everybody’s Invited! - September 27, 2011

    […] This is Part 2 of my sabbatical series, where I’m posting photos from the trips I took during my two month sabbatical. During August and September I visited Alaska with my friend Brandon;  went on a road trip down the Atlantic Coast of the United States with my friend Amber; attended Space Camp in Huntsville, Alabama; toured Egypt with Intrepid Travel; and visited Paris and Honfleur with my mom and aunt. See previous entry here. […]

  2. Sabanimals! « Everybody’s Invited! - September 27, 2011

    […] with Intrepid Travel; and visited Paris and Honfleur with my mom and aunt. See previous entries here and […]

  3. Sabbatical: Art, Music, and Hieroglyphics « Everybody’s Invited! - September 29, 2011

    […] with Intrepid Travel; and visited Paris and Honfleur with my mom and aunt. See previous entries here, here, and […]

  4. Sabbatical in Sum « Everybody’s Invited! - October 2, 2011

    […] with Intrepid Travel; and visited Paris and Honfleur with my mom and aunt. See previous entries here, here, here, and […]

Leave a Reply

