Sabbatical in Blue

25 Sep

This is Part 2 of my sabbatical series, where I’m posting photos from the trips I took during my two month sabbatical. During August and September I visited Alaska with my friend Brandon;  went on a road trip down the Atlantic Coast of the United States with my friend Amber; attended Space Camp in Huntsville, Alabama; toured Egypt with Intrepid Travel; and visited Paris and Honfleur with my mom and aunt. See previous entry here.

For this entry, I’m focusing on things that are blue.

A lot of stuff in Alaska is blue. And very very gorgeous. I can't lie; Brandon took this picture of Mt. McKinley. That's why it is awesome. The mountain had been hiding the entire time we were in Denali National Park. We finally caught this gorgeous view on the last day, as we were leaving the park.

There was a seaplane landing site a few blocks from where I stayed in Anchorage. This pretty blue one was my favorite.

The first stop on my road trip with Amber was Cape May, NJ (well, after the obligatory $40 donation to a slot machine in Atlantic City). It was full of beautiful old bed and breakfasts, ice cream, saltwater taffy, local artwork, and these blue tents on the beach.

Amber and I also stopped in Virginia Beach, which was colorful and crowded.

Oh hey, my spacesuit was blue.

One of the best parts about my trip to Egypt was the opportunity to meet and talk with locals. This was the lovely home of Ahmed, a tour guide in Luxor, and his family. Ahmed had recently been on the hajj to Mecca, and we got to hear all about it.

The sky was very blue the day we visited Karnak Temple in Luxor. Aren't those paintings lovely?

The exterior is jarring, but the modern art museum in the Pompidou Center in Paris is incredible. My mom and aunt and I spent most of a day there.

My mom and I took a walk in the Tuileries after visiting the Orangerie. I can't help but think that X is marking the spot in this photo.

Stay tuned for the next post: Sabanimals!

4 Responses to “Sabbatical in Blue”

  1. julia s. September 27, 2011 at 5:36 pm #

    i love this ALMOST as much as i love the food post.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Sabanimals! « Everybody’s Invited! - September 27, 2011

    […] This is Part 3 of my sabbatical series, where I’m posting photos from the trips I took during my two month sabbatical. During August and September I visited Alaska with my friend Brandon; went on a road trip down the Atlantic Coast of the United States to Savannah, GA with my friend Amber; attended Space Camp in Huntsville, Alabama; toured Egypt with Intrepid Travel; and visited Paris and Honfleur with my mom and aunt. See previous entries here and here. […]

  2. Sabbatical: Art, Music, and Hieroglyphics « Everybody’s Invited! - September 29, 2011

    […] Intrepid Travel; and visited Paris and Honfleur with my mom and aunt. See previous entries here, here, and […]

  3. Sabbatical in Sum « Everybody’s Invited! - October 2, 2011

    […] Intrepid Travel; and visited Paris and Honfleur with my mom and aunt. See previous entries here, here, here, and […]

Leave a Reply

