Sabanimals!

27 Sep

This is Part 3 of my sabbatical series, where I’m posting photos from the trips I took during my two month sabbatical. During August and September I visited Alaska with my friend Brandon; went on a road trip down the Atlantic Coast of the United States to Savannah, GA with my friend Amber; attended Space Camp in Huntsville, Alabama; toured Egypt with Intrepid Travel; and visited Paris and Honfleur with my mom and aunt. See previous entries here and here.

This entry is all about the animals I saw on my trip!

The wolf was definitely the star of Denali. Brandon and I totally lucked out and saw FIVE wolves during our several days in the park, which, according to all of our guides, is virtually unheard of. There are only around 70 in the entire park. We stopped telling other people we met, because we figured no one would believe us.

Brandon got a great shot of this eagle that we had gone on a quest to find. We almost gave up!

Here's another of Brandon's great shots. Caribou!

I made friends with this dog when we took a day trip to Homer.

Amber and I spent a couple hours at the Chincoteague National Wildlife Refuge in Virginia. We saw lots of birds!

And we saw a lizard on a mailbox in Charleston.

In Egypt, I got to ride a camel for the first time. Such funny animals.

We visited Animal Care Egypt in Luxor, where injured working animals, like this one, are given care.

This guy was pretty excited about getting his photo taken with this donkey at ACE.

My mom snapped this picture of cats and a dog in Honfleur, Normandy. Pretty cute.

Other animals spotted include: bears, moose, and a coyote in Denali; tons of ponies in Chincoteague, VA; lots of cows and horses everywhere along the Atlantic Coast; and a bunch of cats wandering around various places in Egypt. Fortunately, we didn’t run into any Nile Crocodiles.

Next up: Art, Music, and Hieroglyphics. Stay tuned!

4 Responses to “Sabanimals!”

  1. Joanna September 27, 2011 at 9:07 pm #

    Love these photos! A great way to learn about all your adventures. Thanks for posting.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Sabbatical: Art, Music, and Hieroglyphics « Everybody’s Invited! - September 29, 2011

    […] This is Part 4 of my sabbatical series, where I’m posting photos from the trips I took during my two month sabbatical. During August and September I visited Alaska with my friend Brandon; went on a road trip down the Atlantic Coast of the United States to Savannah, GA with my friend Amber; attended Space Camp in Huntsville, Alabama; toured Egypt with Intrepid Travel; and visited Paris and Honfleur with my mom and aunt. See previous entries here, here, and here. […]

  2. Sabbatical in Sum « Everybody’s Invited! - October 2, 2011

    […] Travel; and visited Paris and Honfleur with my mom and aunt. See previous entries here, here, here, and […]

Leave a Reply

