Sabbatical: Art, Music, and Hieroglyphics

29 Sep

This is Part 4 of my sabbatical series, where I’m posting photos from the trips I took during my two month sabbatical. During August and September I visited Alaska with my friend Brandon; went on a road trip down the Atlantic Coast of the United States to Savannah, GA with my friend Amber; attended Space Camp in Huntsville, Alabama; toured Egypt with Intrepid Travel; and visited Paris and Honfleur with my mom and aunt. See previous entries here, here, and here.

This entry is about cultural stuff like art and music. And hieroglyphics!

This is the face of a sculpture outside of a college in Valdez, Alaska. It was a grey, rainy day (my favorite kind), and I loved this face.

Lots of street musicians in Savannah, GA.

I found this great gallery/café in Savannah.

Not exactly art, but kind of like it. This is a carefully reconstructed boat made from pieces found buried near the Pyramids at Giza. Egyptologists think there may have been five of these buried near the Pharoahs at some point, though the others were stolen.

The Temple at Philae in Aswan, Egypt. I got a crash course in Ancient Egyptian Gods, This temple is dedicated to the godesses Hathor and Isis.

I learned that artists starting carving hieroglyphics in relief so as to make it harder for future Pharoahs to deface them. (I'm looking at you, Rameses II.)

This was a cool piece on the contemporary floor at the Pompidou Centre in Paris. You could move different colors of glass panels around to view the black and white room behind.

Here's another great face, this time from the Boudin Museum in Honfleur, Normandy. I found her a little intimidating.

One of my favorite finds was from a little room at the top of the Boudin Museum where I saw a kind of comic book about the creation of the world. This is the page about the creation of snowflakes.

A standout from the trip to Honfleur was my visit to Les Maisons Satie, the house where musician Erik Satie was born, which is now an incredible interactive museum. I would call it an "experience." I normally find player pianos to be either tacky or spooky, but this one was charming...and spooky. (Photo credit: Susan Kane)

One Response to “Sabbatical: Art, Music, and Hieroglyphics”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Sabbatical in Sum « Everybody’s Invited! - October 2, 2011

    […] This is Part 5 of my sabbatical series, where I’m posting photos from the trips I took during my two month sabbatical. During August and September I visited Alaska with my friend Brandon; went on a road trip down the Atlantic Coast of the United States to Savannah, GA with my friend Amber; attended Space Camp in Huntsville, Alabama; toured Egypt with Intrepid Travel; and visited Paris and Honfleur with my mom and aunt. See previous entries here, here, here, and here. […]

Leave a Reply

