Art

8 Jan

I’ve been thinking a lot about art recently. I’ve never been much of an artist, unless you count stick figures, but I have a lot of ideas for art and design projects that I wish I could do. Isn’t it so frustrating to have plenty of ideas but not the necessary skills to execute them? After thinking long and hard about this problem, I’ve come up with this two-step plan for overcoming my lack of natural artistic talent:

  1. Ask for help.
  2. Do it anyway.

What do you think?

In the meantime, I’ve been seeing some cool art projects around the web recently, and I thought I’d share some of my favorites:

  • The Monster Engine is artist Dave DeVries’ collection of paintings based on children’s drawings. I think they’re fun and sort of scary at the same time. Plus they remind me of a 7-year-old boy I used to tutor who wrote and illustrated a book called “Criminal Sugarpie” that I absolutely love.
  • The Obliteration Room is what happens when you let people put brightly colored sticker dots all over a white room. It feels like a friendly explosion. The artist is Yayoi Kusama.
  • My mom pointed me to the Advanced Style blog which features fun photographs of stylish older people by photographer Ari Seth Cohen. It’s like The Sartorialist for septuagenarians.
  • Photographer Frieke Janssens has put together a bizarre collection of portraits of children smoking (she used chalk and cheese rather than real cigarettes for the portraits). I find it disturbing, not just because of the smoking, but because the children have such adult-like facial expressions and mannerisms.
  •  I freaking love National Geographic‘s list of the best space photographs of 2011. They’re just mind-blowing.

What art has inspired you recently? And how do you close the gap between your own artistic vision and your skillset?

p.s. If you’re looking for some creative inspiration, check out Brain Pickings awesome roundup of activity books for grown-ups. I want everything on the list!

6 Responses to “Art”

  1. Keith Donald Art January 8, 2012 at 1:43 pm #

    Some cool and enjoyable links , thanks for sharing

  2. Susan January 8, 2012 at 6:40 pm #

    Ive subscribed to Brain Pickings’ newsletter – Some of
    those books they list sound like worthy investments.

    • Hannah Kane January 8, 2012 at 7:39 pm #

      Don’t they? Let me know if you get any of them.

  3. Jung January 12, 2012 at 1:31 am #

    CitizenKane,
    You are such a prolific blogger. I’m currently doing “The Artist’s Way” with a group of friends. It might be something you’re interested in. I highly recommend it. Used copies online are cheap–or I’m pretty sure you can borrow from the library.

    Another book I want to do when I’m done with TAW, is “Drawing on the Right Side of the Brain.”

    Also, an artist friend and former intern at Idealist.org, Addoley, is doing a neat art project that is participatory and might also be a way for you to feel more artistic in a collective way! I’ve done it and have roped a few friends into it as well. http://addoley.blogspot.com/2011/12/project.html

    Happy New Years!
    PS, I would totally go to your Rubik’s Cube 101 if I were still in PDX!

    • Hannah Kane January 12, 2012 at 3:20 pm #

      Thanks, Jung, for the tips! I have heard of The Artist’s Way, though I have not used it. How do I get in touch with Addoley? I don’t see contact information on the blog.

      Hope you’re doing well!

Leave a Reply

