A Game-ful Day at Cloud Cap

21 Feb

On Saturday I spent nearly a full day at Cloud Cap Games, one of my favorite Portland establishments. First, I taught a Rubik’s Cube class to seven enthusiastic students. It was awesome to see things clicking in people’s brains as we moved through the steps to solving the cube. I think I can use what I learned during this class to refine my teaching methods and materials and come back later with an even more successful lesson.

After the class, I had a three-hour break before returning to Cloud Cap for my friend Ken’s awesome birthday game night.

Chris has a go at Perfection.

First, I had my nerves rattled while playing a few rounds of Perfection, which is that game from the eighties where you fit a bunch of little plastic shapes into the appropriate spot on the board, and after a minute or so the whole board pops up and all the pieces go flying. Startled me every time!

Next up was a game called Timeline: Inventions, which is right up my alley because it’s about inventions! The object is to place a card with an invention on it (e.g. Sign Language, blue jeans, the compass) on a timeline, relative to the other cards that have already been played. The more items on the timeline, the harder it gets. How come I didn’t invent that game?

Then we split into two groups and I played a card-based game called Kittens in a Blender. The premise is pretty gruesome, but it has some mechanics I really liked. Each player has a bunch of kittens they’re trying to save by putting them in the Box, and everyone tries to get the other players’ kittens into the Blender before throwing down a Blend card. I was the first person to blend any kittens, and it was surprisingly traumatic. If it sounds weird, it’s because it is.

For the next round, the whole group came together to play The Resistance. Four players including me were secretly chosen to be spies and our task was to sabotage the missions. I liked this game a lot because it’s basically just trying to psych people out. I don’t have a great poker face, but we won anyway!

To close out the night, I played a lively game of Pick-up Sticks.

Thanks to James and Kirsten of Cloud Cap for hosting the Rubik’s class, and to Ken and Erin for hosting the game night. It was such a good day!

One Response to “A Game-ful Day at Cloud Cap”

  1. Ken February 21, 2012 at 11:48 pm #

    The games were the hook, the companionship was the prize. 🙂

    Other notably fun games we played:

    – Fastrack: http://www.blueorangegames.com/fastrack.php
    – Coloretto: http://www.riograndegames.com/games.html?id=71
    – No Thanks: http://www.zmangames.com/cardgames/no_thanks.htm

    The Resistance was a highlight — I hope we play again some time.

Leave a Reply

