Leap Day

28 Feb

I remember seeing a tweet awhile back (I can’t remember whose) about how the author’s life was completely different than it had been one year prior. That strikes me as a worthy goal. Of course, I like a lot of things about my life right now so I wouldn’t want to change everything, but it’s interesting to consider how many big changes you could possibly make in a year. There are the obvious things like moving to a new place, changing jobs, or getting out of a relationship that’s no longer working. There are also more subtle, but equally powerful, changes – you could become the type of person who reads non-fiction, you could go vegetarian, or you could finally cross “run a marathon” off your list.

by Flickr user jhf

Leap Day seems like the perfect starting point for a transformative year. I’m going to challenge myself to identify three big opportunities to “leap without a net” in 2012. Three Big Risks. I don’t know exactly what they’ll be yet, but I’m going to be looking out for them so I notice them when they’re in front of me.

And at the same time, I’d like to be more mindful of the subtle changes that will happen gradually over the course of this year. Maybe I will become more expressive (a personal goal). Or maybe I’ll become a more visual person (another goal). Or maybe, just maybe, I’ll finally become a good joke-teller (serious life dream).

I think the combination of these two things – intentional risk-taking, and being mindful of smaller personal changes – could result in me feeling that my life is completely different one year from now. I can’t think of anything more exciting. Seriously. I can’t do it.

2 Responses to “Leap Day”

  1. Jung March 2, 2012 at 5:35 am #

    Citizen Kane. I love this idea. A LOT. I’d have to say my life is completely different from where/how/who I was last year. So here’s to a transformed you. PS, don’t you mean, you CAN do it?

    • Hannah Kane March 2, 2012 at 5:42 pm #

      No, I simply cannot imagine anything more exciting than a life transformed. 🙂

      I’ve been enjoying following your adventures on your blog and photostreams!

Leave a Reply

