How to get out of a bad mood

10 Apr

Pinterest won't let you feel blue! (From http://www.marcadamus.com; via Sonya Greenhalgh's Pinterest board http://pinterest.com/rabbitlova/)

Here are my best no-fail tricks for getting out of a terrible mood, overcoming an uninspired rut, or recovering from a bad morning:

  1. Music, music, music. It depends on the particular variety of bad mood, but the second movement of Mozart’s Piano Concerto No. 12 in A Major works for me in most cases.
  2. Look at pictures of beautiful things on Flickr or Pinterest.
  3. Read old emails, postcards, and letters from friends and family. I keep a collection for just such occasions.
  4. Make something. Even if it’s just a terrible drawing, it usually gets me out of a creative rut.
  5. Take a nap. Being sad or mad is exhausting, but sleeping is awesome!
  6. Look at pictures of my friends’ babies on Facebook. I think there have been studies that show that this is actually supposed to make me feel worse about my life, but I swear it doesn’t. I really really like doing this.
  7. Solve a puzzle. It engages your brain in a different way, and allows your subconscious to problem solve.
  8. Do something nice for someone else. This is like magic. Works equally well with friends and strangers.
  9. Sink into it. Sometimes I have to admit that I just want to feel bad. And when that happens, the only thing I can do is feel the feeling all the way through. This allows me to move past it.
  10. Bake something. Then eat it.

What are your tricks?

5 Responses to “How to get out of a bad mood”

  1. tara April 10, 2012 at 4:29 pm #

    If I can’t make my baby laugh, I watch a video of him laughing. Or I’ll listen to the Beatles and go for a run. Even though I don’t really like running, somehow it helps! Vintage shopping/thrifting also cheers me up.

    Thanks for these other great ideas for snapping out of a bad mood. I would give anything to partake in number 5!

    • Hannah Kane April 10, 2012 at 5:03 pm #

      Such good ideas. Let’s go shopping!

      • tara April 13, 2012 at 7:38 pm #

        I’m down to shop anytime!

  2. juliacsmith April 10, 2012 at 5:41 pm #

    I love this post and would add… Zumba! Yoga! Hikes! When I’m stressed, exercise is the thing I’m most likely to forget or avoid, but it’s one of the rewarding ways out of the doldrums.

    • Hannah Kane April 10, 2012 at 7:57 pm #

      Good call. I still haven’t tried zumba, but going for a run usually does the trick for me!

Leave a Reply

